Sri Lanka Youth Netball Team Confident

A 16 member tour party will represent Sri Lanka at the 12th Asian Youth ( Under 21 ) Netball Championship 2023, to be held in Jeonju, South Korea from 10th to 17th June.

12 member playing squad : Sajini Rathnayake – Captain, Idusha Janani, Chalini Neesha, Sarah Peiris, Bhashi Udagedara, Dilmi Wijenayake, Minagee Kankanige, Timy Wasanthapriya, Ranudi Perera, Nethmi Wijenayake, Nethanga Gunaratne & Jinali Balasooriya. The 04 officials accompanying are Amalka Gunathilaka ( Head Coach ),
Shashika Samarasinghe ( Assistant Coach ), Dr. Shiromi Pilapitiya ( Medical Representative ) & Vajira Pushpakumari ( Manageress )

12 teams are competing in the Pool Stage. Pool A consists of Malaysia – Defending Champions, Hong Kong, Thailand, Japan, India & Maldives. South Korea – Hosts, Singapore – Runners Up, Sri Lanka – Bronze Medalists, Brunei, Chinese Taipei & Pakistan are drawn in Pool B.

The inaugural championship was held in Hong Kong. South Korea is hosting it for the 02nd time in this instance. The first time winners Singapore in 1994 were the Runners Up last time. They have 02 titles in addition to 02 finishes as Silver medalists. Singapore has 05 other minor podium finishes too. Sri Lanka won 02 championships while ending as runners up on 05 consecutive occasions. The island nation won the Bronze Medal the last time. Defending champions Malaysia have been champions 06 times – the most by any nation. They have been runners up twice more & finished in 03rd place once.

The Ministry of Sports have assisted the team to travel to the event. Sri Lanka Cricket have also come on board as a major financial contributor. Dialog Axiata powers Sri Lanka Netball. The Sri Lankan expatriate community in South Korea is reported to be involved in providing the hospitality facilities to the tour party.

Report assisted by Navod Wijewickrama /
Photo courtesy Ministry of Sports, Sri Lanka