Celebrating International Chess Day

International Chess Day is celebrated on the 20th of July every year mainly to remember the establishment of the International Chess Federation. It was founded on 20th July 1924. The day has been celebrated since 1966 by people around the world. The International Chess Federation comprises 181 chess federations. To mark the day, various chess events are organized by the members of the chess federation.

The Chess Federation of Sri Lanka took steps to Celebrate the International Chess day is a grand manner with the partnership with GLOMARK Super Market in Sri Lanka with the GLORMARK Chess Festival which included 5 Blitz event and Simultaneous Exhibition with a participation of 600 players. A total of nearly Rs. 100,000/= was distributed among the winners.

All the five tournaments were held at President’s College, Homagama and were played with a Blitz time control of 03 minutes plus 2 seconds per move on the Swiss System.

In ELO Blitz Rating less than 1300 and unrated category, Kosala Sandeepa Chamikara Amarathunga of Super Fighters Chess Club could secure first place after he was able to defeat Chenuka Nethvidu Jayawardana whereas Chamin Devnaka and D Binuka Lavanaga secured second and third place respectively. The tournament consisted of nine rounds.

At the open tournament which also comprises nine rounds, IM LMST De Silva of Nalanda College Colombo emerged victorious although he lost his last round opponent, FM JAK Saranath Nanayakkara of Super Knights Chess Club. Subsequently, FM JAK Saranath Nayanakkara scored 7 points and was able to secure second place while CC Weerasinghe of Maroons Chess club was placed third.
At the Women’s ELO Blitz rating of less than 1150 and unrated category which played nine rounds, from out of 136 chess players who took part in the tournament, HG Sasmi Sithumsa of Lyceum International School, Ratnapura secured first place after competing against Chanithma Lkdinee G Gamage in the final round. DG Jayandi Bimansa of Super Fighters Chess Club and D Sathini Disathna Liyanage of Super Fighters Chess Club were placed second and third respectively.

At the Women’s tournament which also had nine rounds, Oshini Devindya Gunawardhana of Wycherley International School became the winner after drawn with her opponent Dehansa Nisanduni Sandanayake in the final round. WCM K M Dahamdi Sandula of Museaus College became the first runner up and Desandhi Dhihansa Gamage of Srimavo Bandaranayake Vidyalaya became the second runner-up.

At the parents’ event which was held as an exhibition event, HGD Bodhika became the winner. Nilakshi Alwis and TT Wadduwage became the first and second runners up respectively. The tournament consisted of five rounds.

The National Chess Champion, Susal De Silva, Women’s National Chess Champion, Sachini Ranasinghe and CFSL President made the Simultanious Games with around 40 players who attended.

Report / Photos courtesy Luxman Wijesooriya