sri lanka flag
  • Domestic Basketball Results  –  Finals

    Domestic Basketball Results  –  Finals

    CDBA  16th  Colombo Super League  Inter Club  Championship  2018  –  Sugathadasa Stadium, Colombo

    The 16th edition of the Colombo Super League (CSL) conducted by the Colombo District Basketball Association sponsored yet again by Leisure World Water Parks concluded last Sunday the 4th March at Sugathadasa indoor stadium successfully. The tournament which was held for 43 days, had 58 teams and 696 athletes taking part in 6 divisions. It was a sight to witness basketball being played indoors after so many years.

    The most anticipated finals being the ‘A’ division men’s match between defending champions Colombo BC and HSC Blues who came second best in the previous edition ended up in victory for HSC Blues claiming their first ever CSL title. The game was in balance till the 3rd quarter but HSC Blues with their experience side pulled away wining comfortably in the end 74-57. Clinton Stallone of HSC Blues was named MVP. HSC Blacks defeated SL Air Force SC to claim 3rd place.

    The women’s ‘A’ division final was a one-sided affair as defending champions Track Masters dominated the surprising finalist SL Army BC and went on to claim the title yet again. Final scores read 63 to 32. Seasoned veteran Kumarine De Silva from Track Masters was named MVP for her performance through the tournament. SL Air Force SC beat Contenders BC to claim 3rd place.

    The men’s ‘B’ division was won by Moratuwa BC ‘A’ beating Colombo BC ‘B’ 71 to 57. Gayan Meedeniya of Moratuwa BC was named MVP. SL Army BC ‘B’ beat Royal BC to claim 3rd place.

    The women’s ‘B’ division was won by Josephians BC beating Buffaloes BC xx to xx. Hiniduma Thisari from Josephians BC was named MVP. A 3rd place playoff was not held in this division.

    The men’s ‘C’ division was won by Buffaloes BC ‘B’ beating Vazians BC xx to xx. Lumal Soysa of Buffaloes BC ‘B’ was named MVP. Moratuwa BC ‘B’ beat All Greens BC ‘B’ to claim 3rd place.

    The men’s ‘D’ division was won by Nugegoda Cagers beating SL Police ‘C’ xx to xx. Abdul Rahuman of Nugegoda Cagers was named MVP. Old Thomians BU beat KRC SC to claim 3rd place.

    The chief guest at the finals was Suresh Subramaniam the newly elected President of National Olympic Committee who pledged his support for basketball. Shammi Muthumala Managing Director of Leisure World Water Parks, the principal sponsors of CSL graced the occasion as the Guest of Honor and gave away the awards to the champions along with the other distinguish guests who were present at the finals.

    Division Position Team Top Scorers Comments
    B – Women Champion Josephians BC Hiniduma Thisari – 32

    Taniya Perera – 13

    Chalani Perera – 12

    Josephians BC beat Buffaloes BC 76 to 34



    MVP: Hiniduma Thisari (Josephians BC)

    Runner Up Buffaloes BC Hazeena Abdul – 15

    Puja Liyanage – 10

    A – Women Champion Track Masters SC Prasadi Fonseka – 15

    Solange Gunawijeya – 14

    Kumarine De Silva – 13

    Track Masters led at half time 31 to 13. Final scores were 63-32 in favor of Track Masters.




    MVP: Kumarine De Silva (Tracks Masters SC)

    Runner Up SL Army BC Dilumi Gunawardena – 13

    Keyasha Siriwardena – 10

    2nd Runner Up SL Air Force SC SL Air Force SC beat Contenders to claim 3rd place.
    D – Men Champion Nugegoda Cagers Abdul Rahuman – 12

    Hakeem Ziard – 20

    Mark Stephen – 13

    Don Chilan – 14

    Nugegoda Cagers beat SL Police SC ‘C’ 73 to 61



    MVP: Abdul Rahuman (Nugegoda Cagers)




    Runner Up SL Police SC Buddhika Kumudapperuma – 15

    Sanjana De Costa – 23

    2nd Runner Up Old Thomians BU Old Thomians BU beat KRC SC to claim 3rd place.
    C – Men Champion Buffaloes BC ‘B’ Lumal Soysa – 29

    Manjula Senanayake – 22

    Thilan Nanayakkara – 14

    Buffaloes BC ‘B’ beat Vazians BC 83 to 72



    MVP: Lumal Soysa (Buffaloes BC)




    Runner Up Vazians BC Hashan Eranda – 23

    Dilshan Silva – 19

    Ramesh Vimukthi – 17

    2nd Runner Up Moratuwa BC ‘B’ Moratuwa BC ‘B’ beat All Greens BC to claim 3rd place.
    B – Men Champion Moratuwa BC ‘A’ Gayan Meedeniya – 23

    Shawn Paul – 19

    Tharindu Sankalpa – 11

    Moratuwa led at half time 32 to 27. Final scores were 71-57 in favor of Moratuwa BC ‘A’.



    MVP: Gayan Meedeniya (Moratuwa BC ‘B’)

    Runner Up Colombo BC ‘B’ Chanuka Fernando – 21

    Dasun Mendis – 15

    2nd Runner Up SL Army BC ‘B’ SL Army BC ‘B’ beat Royal BC to claim 3rd place.
    A – Men Champion HSC Blues Clinton Stallone – 23

    Mithila Abeysekara – 11

    Isuru Perera – 10

    HSC Blues led at half time 26 to 22. Final scores were 74-57 in favor of HSC Blues.


    MVP: Clinton Stallone (HSC Blues)




    Runner Up Colombo BC ‘A’ Sudesh Ahamed – 17

    Charith Madushanka – 16

    2nd Runner Up HSC Blacks HSC Blacks beat Air Force SC to claim 3rd place.

Leave a reply

Cancel reply