sri lanka flag

    The Inyernational Sports Day 2015 was celebrated for the 01st time in Sri Lanka with a grand ceremony in Nuwara Eliya.The Ministry of Tourism and Sports in collabaration with the Ministries of Public Administration,Health,Education and Social Services had involved School Children,Elders, Disabled Communityand various prominent personalities in this programme,Displays in Wushu,Gymnastics, Karate and Drill as well as Running,Walking and Mountain Biking events were held. The World Health Organisation funded this event, SPORTS – A PATHWAY TOWARDS HAPPY HEALTHY AND PEACEFUL LIVING was mentioned as the Theme. Hon. Naveen Dissanayake, Minister of Tourism and Sports together with Dr,Arvind Mathur,Country Representative -Sri Lanka of the World Health Organisation patronised the occassion.The prevention of Non Communicable Diseases and the proposed launch of a National Level Short Excercise Programme for schools on adaily basis is also long term objectives of this endeavour.


    The 2nd Annual Sri Lanka Junior Match Play Championship started on a positive note with 75 players competing in the qualifying round at the Royal Colombo Golf Club. The sponsor for the event is ‘Perera & Sons Bakers Ltd’ ‘. The winner of the overall championship would carry away the Rukmini Kodagoda trophy donated by the family in memory of one of Sri Lanka’s talented sports women, a former national tennis and golf champion. In the open/gold division age group under 18 yrs, Ishira Fernando was the top qualifier with a gross score of 73 with last year’s winner Prashan Peiris as the nearest challenger with a gross score of 78. The eight to qualify for the match play knock out stage: Ishira Fernando 73, Prashan Peiris 79, Lamindi Rainika 81, Armand Flamer Caldera 83, S. Kailash 84, T. Akash 85, D. Dhanaranjan 87, Hiruna Sigera 88. In the Silver division age group under 15 yrs the top spot was taken by Taniya Balasuriya with a brilliant score of 78. The other seven to qualify for the match play stage: S. D. Sathsara 85, Iman Sangani 91, Kehan Allis 101, Dimuthi Fernando 102, Dilshan Malinda 106, Avisha Gunawardena 107, Shaveetha

  • Crowds Enjoy Final

    The Hatton Football League concluded their Competition Programme for 2014/2015 with over 2500 spectators present at the Dunbar Grounds in Hatton. SMALL DRAYTON beat YOUNG MALLO  3 – 2 to lift the B W HARRISON SILVA CHALLENGE TROPHY on offer for the 05th consecutive year. 10 teams participated in the A Division tournament where 25 matches were played. 24 teams were seen in action in the 02nd Division.YOUNG LIONS beat MICRO  1 – 0 to take the crown.Hon. Minister of Tourism & Sports,Naveen Dissanayake and President, Football Federation of Sri Lanka Ranjith Rodrigo were present at the occassion.